Saint-Donatus’ church sits atop a small hill called the Knippchen. There are several ways for visitors to reach the site, including the Montée Royale. The Saint-Donatus site is brimming with charm. You can take a stroll, passing under the Charmilles and enjoying the magnificent view.
Before the church that it currently houses, the site was home to a castle and a convent. It was transformed into a citadel in 1682 with the construction of a bastioned enclosure. After a lightning strike, the church was dedicated to Saint-Donatus in 1719. In the late 18th century, the convent was definitively demolished. Only the church remains, and it was renovated in the 20th century.
The Montée Royale
The Montée Royale is a majestic staircase. It provides access to the forecourt of the church. This Way of the Cross, listed in 1992, features 14 identical stone crosses.
The Charmilles de Cornouillers
According to tradition, the Charmilles are over 350 years old. We highly recommend taking the time to explore and stroll through them.
The church is open from 12:00 pm to 6:00 pm on good-weather days